one reason i loved “the help”

ipad-art-wide-the-help-420x0

“All I’m saying is, kindness don’t have no boundaries.” -Kathryn Stockett, The Help

I was continuing my cheerfully idle existence today by perusing some of my old pins on Pinterest (I am in a class right now, but I will admit that on days I have no homework, I take a guilty pleasure in not thinking about anything remotely academic) and came across this one:

help

This little phrase was absolutely my favorite part of the movie (yes, I do superstitiously recite it to my beta fish every day, lest he fail to thrive . . .). Ok, and, yes,  I did have a slight obsession with the colorful 1960s wardrobe and may or may not have made a dubious decision to get pink glasses after seeing it . . .

photo (6)

But back to that phrase, as a current and (hopefully) future educator, the philosophy of Aibileen with her small charge, ought to be the philosophy of every teacher. So it’s probably not a good idea to say “you is kind . . . etc” to your class every day (especially for those of us teaching adults, yikes!), but it is definitely a good idea for teachers to have so much concern for each learner in their class.

“Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.” James 1:3 ESV

To bring some of my own convictions into the equation, as each person comes to us made in the image of the Creator, we as educators are entrusted of the awesome responsibility of guiding that precious soul for a short time. Even if we are teaching as mundane a task as basic computer skills or cracking an egg open, our spirit ought to be a grace-filled one. My attitude can take a tip from a fictional character and I can assume, my students have no reason not to be kind (unless I give them one), my students have the ability to learn (and I must do all in my power not to hinder then), and my student is important. He or she is made in the image of God and has an eternal soul that I have the privilege of influencing for a moment.

Leave a Reply

