gluten/dairy free french toast or monte cristo

how-to-make-french-toast

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”

-Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

I love that quote! It seems exactly the sort of thing that Virginia and Leonard would have thought (I love referring to the Woolfs’ by their first names:).

I spent the last seven years at an institution that made terrible food.

No, really, it was gross! Really . . . . but some things they did pretty good were grilled cheese and breads and cakes. The line was always longer on a grilled cheese Saturday! This past summer I was there finishing up my graduate assistantship and they started making more interesting sandwiches like reubens and . . . you guessed it! Monte Cristos.

At school they were a grilled ham and cheese sandwich, made on french toast and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Yum! I was inspired to try it, and was glad to have another successful and doable food option!

I used:

2 egg yokes

1/4 a cup of vanilla almond milk

2 squares of Udi’s gluten free white bread

ham

powdered sugar

68d0f5ac7d2211e29f3f22000a1f978e_69af19fb47d2211e2afd722000a1f98d6_6

I actually had left over egg and milk so I made a third piece, but I think that is because I was impatient and didn’t allow the bread to soak long enough. This was really good. My friend tells me that you can add cinnamon and vanilla to the egg/milk mixture, but I decided to forgo it since I was using the sweetened milk. I also was thinking of all the lovely toppings (like chocolate) you could use for just the french toast! Yum! Oh, and if one could have cheese, wouldn’t it be nice with some brie and strawberries? Enjoy and happy Friday!

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

