the keepsake

4df596f881cc11e2a86422000a1f9839_6

“I’m not sentimental–I’m as romantic as you are. The idea, you know,
is that the sentimental person thinks things will last–the romantic
person has a desperate confidence that they won’t.” 
― F. Scott Fitzgerald, This Side of Paradise

I would call myself one of the least sentimental people I know. In fact, my fiancé recently counted on my lack of sentimentality and told me the exact day he was going to propose, but I was clueless to the significance of the day (maybe I will remember the date now . . .)!

When thinking of this phrase (“the keepsake”) I started thinking of all the keepsakes in books and movies. A few I thought of were:

The locket in A Little Princess:

 little princess

The falsely-taken lock of hair in Sense and Sensibility: 

cutting a lock of marianne's hair2 (2)

The watch in Castaway:

helenwatch2

To name just a few.

I’ve also seen one lovely idea for those that enjoy travel:

48

Making your pressed pennies into a bracelet (I can’t help but think I might get a rash from that . . . ). Still, it’s sweet. I do not have many favored belongings outside of a few special scarves and of course, my engagement ring! But I do have a necklace that has evolved into a very special keepsake. It’s a little book:

f4d0ef9681cb11e2ace922000a1f90f6_6

It’s not the necklace itself that makes it special, although I do love all the things that this particular potter makes. I had gotten this necklace last year. I was wearing it one day and my friend impulsively took it and started to write on one of the pages. I will be honest, I was kind of annoyed at the time, but . . . after a while I was glad. I had other friends write in it last year as graduation approached. Now despite being scattered throughout the country, I have tiny handwritten keepsakes from these dear people.

6ee97d2481d211e29fe522000a1f97ce_6

It makes me think of this verse in Philippians 1:7 (ESV):

” . . . because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace . . .”

How do you stay near to those friends that are far from you?

~Sarah

2 thoughts on “the keepsake

Leave a Reply

