the proposal

485292_10151261581032077_507580403_n

Happy Proposal Day!!

Yet another absurd holiday, but I am a fan of this one:) I was going to write about my engagement story, but I will save that for another day and share some lovely gooey-favorite quotes instead in the spirit of the day! Here are five favorites:

Anne and Gilbert

url-2

“For a moment Anne’s heart fluttered queerly and for the first time her eyes faltered under Gilbert’s gaze and a rosy flush stained the paleness of her face. It was as if a veil that had hung before her inner consciousness had been lifted, giving to her view a revelation of unsuspected feelings and realities. Perhaps, after all, romance did not come into one’s life with pomp and blare, like a gay knight riding down; perhaps it crept to one’s side like an old friend through quiet ways; perhaps it revealed itself in seeming prose, until some sudden shaft of illumination flung athwart its pages betrayed the rhythm and the music, perhaps. . . perhaps. . .love unfolded naturally out of a beautiful friendship, as a golden-hearted rose slipping from its green sheath. ”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea

Emma and Mr. Knightley

emma09_proposal2

“Dear Diary, Today I tried not to think about Mr. Knightly. I tried not to think about him when I discussed the menu with Cook… I tried not to think about him in the garden where I thrice plucked the petals off a daisy to acertain his feelings for Harriet. I don’t think we should keep daisies in the garden, they really are a drab little flower. And I tried not to think about him when I went to bed, but something had to be done.”
― Jane Austen, Emma

Clark Kent and Lois Lane

url-1

Clark Kent: All my life I’ve been afraid, Lois. Afraid of people knowing the truth about me. Afraid of them rejecting me, and even if they didn’t, still losing them. I’ve been afraid of everything I can’t control. But when I was faced with the idea of losing you forever, it made me realize there’s something I’d regret more than anything else, and that’s not telling you the truth about me. ‘Cause that’s the only way we could share a life together. I know the odds are stacked against us and we’d be risking everything, but if you’re ready to take that leap, there’s no one else that I’d want to take that leap with. Lois, you’ve had a lot of questions about The Blur, it’s me. I’m The Blur.
Lois Lane:  What took you so long?
Clark Kent: [confused, realizes she knows] What? You…

Tom and Meg

url-3

Joe Fox: Don’t cry, Shopgirl. Don’t cry.
Kathleen Kelly: I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.

Matthew and Mary

url

Matt: Would you stay… if I asked you to?
Mary: Oh Matthew you don’t mean that.  You know yourself we carry more luggage than the porters at King’s Cross.  And what about the late Mr. Pamuk? Won’t he resurrect himself every time we argued?
Matt: No.
Mary: You mean you’ve forgiven me?
Matt: No.  I haven’t forgiven you.
Mary: Well then.
Matt: I haven’t forgiven you because I don’t believe you need my forgiveness.  You lived your life and I’ve lived mine and now it’s time we live them together.
Mary: We’ve been on the edge of this so many times Matthew.  Please don’t take me there again unless you’re sure.
Matt: I am sure.
Mary: And your vows to the memory of Lavinia?
Matt: I was wrong.  I don’t think she wants us to be sad.  She was someone who never caused a moment’s sorrow in her whole life.
Mary: I agree.
Matt: Then will you?
Mary: You must say it properly.  I won’t answer unless you… kneel down and everything.
Matt: [smiles and gets down on one knee.  He takes her hand]  Lady Mary Crawley, will you do the honour of becoming my wife?
Mary: Yes!

Which is exactly what I said:)

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

